learning to let go of an argument

I love arguing.

I think I have a reserved part of me that is very afraid of being judged or hurt, and then I have this part that is just like ‘I will tell you what I think and if you disagree with it I will make a skin suit of you.’ But I think there is also a time when you need to let go of an argument and here are a couple of signs that I think indicate this.

  1. When an argument is more harm than good. If an argument is really upsetting you, or creating a great deal of tension between you and someone you care about, then it is time to stop arguing.
  2. When your friends are having to drag you away kicking and screaming because they know you are a weakling and cannot escape with three people pulling you away from an arrogant fifteen year old with a power complex the size of a small country. (this may be personal)
  3. When you yell out ‘YOU CAN’T JUST EQUATE CANNIBALISM TO HOMOSEXUALITY’ at ten thirty on a Friday in front of aforementioned power complexed fifteen year old. (once again, rough day)
  4. When there is no point. When no one is changing their mind and everyone had exhausted there arguments to the point of no return.
  5. When you genuinely could not care less anymore.

(I’m just kidding about the skin suit by the way.)

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Grand father says:

    We all have that reserved part. Do you remember we are four parts/segments of a window?
    Points 2 & 3 were a little …. puerile, perhaps?
    Was the punctuation of point 5 correct?

    Like

  2. Grand father says:

    I thought points 1,4 & 5 were mature. Thank you, they are worth thinking about particularly number 1. for when Grandma and I argue, sometimes I forget that.

    Like

Leave a Reply

